THE APEX TIMES
2027 Toyota C-HR gets second-year BEV upgrade with standard electronic all-wheel drive and 338 hp
Toyota says the reinvented 2027 C-HR remains in its battery-electric (BEV) form for a second model year, adding standard electronic all-wheel drive and citing 338 total system horsepower for the compact crossover.
Toyota is rolling out details for the reinvented 2027 C-HR in its battery-electric (BEV) configuration, positioning the small crossover for its second year as a BEV model. In a release dated Aug. 6, 2026, Toyota U.S. described the 2027 C-HR as “charged up” for the second year of its BEV lineup and said the vehicle comes with standard electronic all-wheel drive.
The release highlights performance figures and a configuration change aimed at broadening appeal. Toyota said the 2027 C-HR BEV will include electronic all-wheel drive as standard equipment. Electronic all-wheel drive uses onboard control systems to manage power delivery to the wheels, rather than relying on a purely mechanical drivetrain design.
Toyota also cited a power rating for the 2027 C-HR BEV, stating it will deliver 338 total system horsepower. Total system horsepower is a combined measurement across the vehicle’s electric propulsion components, typically reported to reflect the net output the driver can use.
Toyota did not provide additional powertrain specifications in the announcement text available here, such as battery capacity, range targets, charging performance, or curb weight. It also did not state pricing, trim-level differences, or on-sale timing in the material used for this article.
While Toyota’s statement focuses on standard drivetrain content and horsepower, the C-HR positioning fits a broader push by automakers to offer compact electric crossovers in volumes that can match the mainstream gas-car segment. In those markets, drivetrain standardization, rather than pay-to-play options, can matter for shoppers comparing competitors on a like-for-like basis.
For Toyota, the C-HR’s continued BEV presence indicates a willingness to iterate quickly on a compact platform rather than treat each electric model as a long, incremental lifecycle. The company’s emphasis in this release is less about introducing an entirely new nameplate and more about keeping the BEV variant competitive with baseline hardware.
Toyota’s post did not disclose several items investors and buyers commonly look for on an EV product update, including EPA range estimates, battery warranty terms, kWh figures, or any changes to software features. It also did not describe how the standard electronic all-wheel drive may affect efficiency or real-world driving behavior.
What to watch next is whether Toyota follows this initial product reveal with specifications that can be compared directly to rivals, especially range, charging times, and any trim-based differences. Those details tend to determine how strongly an electric compact crossover can compete on daily usability, not just headline horsepower.
Why It Matters
- Standard electronic all-wheel drive can simplify EV shopping by making a key traction and handling feature available without add-on costs.
- Headline power figures (338 total system horsepower) help position the C-HR against other compact electric crossovers where performance marketing matters.
- As EV demand remains uneven by region and price point, drivetrain standardization and clear baseline specifications can improve competitiveness in the compact segment.
- The next product details investors and buyers may seek are range and charging metrics, which largely determine real-world convenience and total cost of ownership.
Sources
Key Facts
- Toyota said the 2027 C-HR will remain a BEV (battery-electric vehicle) for a second model year.
- The announcement says standard electronic all-wheel drive will be included.
- Toyota cited 338 total system horsepower for the 2027 C-HR BEV.
- The release was dated Aug. 6, 2026, and was published by Toyota U.S.
- Toyota did not include, in the available announcement text here, EV range, battery capacity, charging performance, or pricing details.
Autos & Transport Related
Tesla’s “million robotaxis” promise from 2020 still hasn’t materialized, raising questions about how much shareholders should trust timeline targets
Elon Musk said Tesla would field a large robotaxi fleet by 2020. None emerged, and a dedicated robotaxi operation is now framed as years away, at least into 2027. The gap is again putting Tesla’s communication about autonomy schedules under scrutiny.
Tech futures slip on Anthropic valuation doubts as Tesla’s Roadster event draws attention
Futures tied to U.S. equities weakened after concerns resurfaced around Anthropic’s valuation, while Tesla’s upcoming Roadster-focused event kept the focus on the automaker’s next halo product.
Tesla Energy Chief Mike Snyder Reportedly Leaves as Musk Emphasizes AI and Robotics
A report says Mike Snyder is stepping away from Tesla’s Energy leadership while CEO Elon Musk outlines a strategic push toward robotics and artificial intelligence. Tesla has not publicly confirmed the personnel change in the post that sparked the rumor.
Morgan Stanley highlights cost pressures at Delta, but argues profit durability supports a higher outlook
In a Wall Street note covered by Yahoo Finance, the bank points to $6 billion of fuel-added costs while saying Delta’s profit has held, setting up a more constructive risk-and-reward view for the airline’s shares.
Tesla’s redesigned Roadster is set to debut at a SpaceX test site in Texas, nearly nine years after Musk first teased the car
The electric sports car, first previewed by Elon Musk in 2017, is approaching its public reveal as Tesla’s top executive timelines have shifted repeatedly over the years.
Analysts suggest Tesla could fold SpaceX propulsion tech into a new Roadster reveal
Speculation around Tesla’s upcoming Roadster unveiling centers on whether the vehicle will showcase SpaceX-designed thrusters, a move that would announcement tighter integration between the two Elon Musk-led operations.
Tesla to unveil a new “Roadster” infused with rocket technology, with launch event details set for Thursday evening
Tesla says it will showcase a new vehicle tied to the Roadster name and “rocket technology.” The company’s event is being framed as a first look at a new kind of vehicle proposition, and investors will be watching for any technical and commercial specifics.
Tesla’s Cybercab robotaxi fleet in Austin grows rapidly, adding more than 300 vehicles in about a month
A reported eightfold jump in Austin indicates Tesla’s autonomous ride-hailing plans may be moving from pilots toward a larger public rollout, with Dallas next in line.
Tesla’s revamped Roadster faces an uphill battle with investors, panelists say
A Market news panel discussion focused on Tesla’s upcoming Roadster update, arguing that while the car will matter to fans, it may not meaningfully shift near-term market expectations for Tesla.
Uber reaches confidential settlement in federal lawsuit over alleged 2020 passenger sexual assault
The ride-hailing company disclosed that it has settled a case before trial, with the plaintiff alleging gaps in driver screening and Uber’s platform safety controls.