THE APEX TIMES
Ace Hardware operator behind Chase Ace files for Chapter 11, highlighting pressure on smaller hardware chains
D&D Venture Group Inc., which runs Chase Ace Hardware and Sprig Home & Garden stores in Northern California, filed a Subchapter V Chapter 11 petition in San Francisco, after court papers showed liabilities and assets in the $1 million to $10 million range.
A smaller hardware chain operating under the Ace Hardware banner has filed for Chapter 11 protection, underscoring how a soft housing market and cautious consumer spending are taking a toll on neighborhood retailers competing with big-box stores like Home Depot and Lowe’s.
According to a report published by TheStreet, D&D Venture Group Inc., the operator of the Chase Ace Hardware chain and Sprig Home & Garden stores in Northern California, filed for Chapter 11 bankruptcy to reorganize its businesses. The filing was submitted as a Subchapter V petition, in Case No. 26-30496, in the U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the Northern District of California in San Francisco on June 4. Court paperwork listed $1 million to $10 million in assets and liabilities, and it did not specify a particular reason for the bankruptcy filing in the petition.
The filing also detailed a slate of major creditors. The largest listed creditor was Fremont Bank, with an amount owed of more than $1.05 million. Other creditors named in the report included the Internal Revenue Service, California’s Employment Development Department, Wells Fargo SBL, and several business entities, with claims ranging from the low hundreds of thousands to more than $1 million.
The operator’s footprint described in the report includes Chase Ace Hardware locations in San Rafael, Santa Rosa, and Pacifica, California. The report also said the company operates Sprig Home & Garden stores in Santa Rosa and San Rafael. Chase Ace Hardware sells mainstream hardware and home improvement brands, including Craftsman, DeWalt, Toro, Weber grills, and Benjamin Moore paints.
Sprig Home & Garden, founded in 2016 by three friends, is positioned more toward home decor and lifestyle merchandise, including plants, candles, books and stationery, and a category that spans accessories and wellness items, according to the report. In practice, that blend of utilitarian hardware categories and discretionary home goods can be sensitive to whether consumers decide to refresh or renovate, rather than only replace essentials.
The bankruptcy comes as Home Depot has pointed to ongoing pressures tied to housing. In its fourth-quarter and fiscal 2025 results, Home Depot said sales for the fourth quarter were $38.2 billion, down 3.8% from the prior year period. The company also cited “consumer uncertainty and pressure in housing,” while noting that underlying demand was relatively stable when adjusting for storm activity. Home Depot’s fiscal 2026 guidance, provided with those results, called for comparable sales growth of approximately flat to 2.0%, along with total sales growth of roughly 2.5% to 4.5%.
While Home Depot’s scale and distribution reach can help it absorb downturns, the same macro pressures often hit smaller chains harder because they typically have fewer levers to defend revenue and gross margin. TheStreet’s report also cited other recent distress in the hardware and home improvement space, including a separate bankruptcy by a home improvement retailer that operated in partnership with Home Depot-branded showrooms.
For now, key details remain unclear. The Chapter 11 petition described in the report did not lay out a specific explanation for the filing, and the report did not describe what D&D Venture Group’s court-approved reorganization plan will look like, whether store closures are expected, or how creditors will be treated. Subchapter V proceedings generally focus on reorganizing and negotiating with creditors, but the timing and outcome of those negotiations will be determined through the court process.
Why It Matters
- A Chapter 11 filing by an Ace Hardware operator indicates that competition from large home improvement retailers remains intense, particularly when housing transactions soften.
- Smaller chains may face faster liquidity strain if renovation demand cools, even when general home repair activity continues.
- Home Depot’s own guidance for fiscal 2026, which calls for comparable sales growth roughly flat to 2.0%, suggests the category’s near-term recovery may be gradual rather than immediate.
- Creditors are likely to watch the case closely for signs of restructuring costs, potential closures, and how liabilities are negotiated under Subchapter V.
Sources
Key Facts
- D&D Venture Group Inc., operator of Chase Ace Hardware and Sprig Home & Garden in Northern California, filed for Chapter 11 on June 4, 2026 in the U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the Northern District of California in San Francisco.
- The filing was submitted as a Subchapter V petition, with court paperwork listing $1 million to $10 million in assets and liabilities.
- The petition, as described in the reporting, did not state a specific reason for the Chapter 11 filing.
- The report listed major creditors including Fremont Bank (more than $1.05 million), the IRS (about $184,000), California’s Employment Development Department (about $130,000), and Wells Fargo SBL (about $97,000).
- Chase Ace Hardware locations named in the report are in San Rafael, Santa Rosa, and Pacifica, California; Sprig Home & Garden locations are in Santa Rosa and San Rafael.
- Home Depot, a large sector competitor, reported fourth-quarter fiscal 2025 sales of $38.2 billion, down 3.8% year over year, and cited consumer uncertainty and pressure in housing.
Retail & Consumer Related
McDonald’s and Taco Bell take aim at the afternoon slump with fresh energy drink launches
Both chains have rolled out new energy drink options within days of each other, turning a familiar 3 p.m. craving into a crowded, brand-distinction race.
Walmart settlement sheds light on scale of opioid-related pharmacy dispute, costing about 0.4% of six-month profit
A Justice Department dispute involving Walmart pharmacies and opioid prescriptions ended in a settlement that, according to market coverage, landed at a small fraction of the retailer’s earnings over a six-month period.
Walmart ends DOJ opioid case with far smaller payout than sought, calling it “immaterial”
A lawsuit that faced a potential multibillion-dollar penalty for Walmart pharmacies closed with a settlement amount described by the company as modest relative to the risk that was on the table.
Walmart climbs as oil at $90 bolsters the “defensive” appeal of retailers
Investors are treating cheaper-to-own retail as a buffer again, after a sharp move in crude oil toward $90. The shift could help Walmart capture shoppers “trading down,” but higher fuel and inventory costs also pose a risk to the cash profits that support its valuation.
Walmart Marketplace Momentum Pressures Brick-and-Mortar Limits, With U.S. Sales Jumping 52%, Report Says
A surge in Walmart’s U.S. marketplace sales, alongside wider assortment, greater use of Walmart fulfillment, and expansion into Mexico and Canada, is putting fresh focus on whether the company can keep accelerating its third-party platform.
Nike reinstates a chief commercial officer role, naming Walmart veteran Jane Ewing
Nike appointed Jane Ewing, a longtime retailer executive, as chief commercial officer and brought back a dedicated executive role after a period without one, according to a report dated Aug. 31, 2026.