THE APEX TIMES
Apple makes new Mac mini and Mac Studio models available, targeting on-device AI and higher-end creator workloads
The updated Mac mini line with M6 and M5 Pro and the refreshed Mac Studio with M5 Max and M5 Ultra go on sale today across Apple’s stores and online channels, with pricing starting at $899 and $2,499 respectively.
Apple has opened sales for its latest desktop refresh, making the new Mac mini and Mac Studio models available starting today. The company is positioning the new machines as upgrades for both mainstream users and professional creators, with emphasis on faster performance and on-device artificial intelligence capabilities powered by Apple silicon.
The Mac mini, described by Apple as its “most versatile” Mac, is now sold in two configurations: Mac mini with the all-new M6 chip and Mac mini with M5 Pro. The Mac Studio, Apple’s higher-end desktop for demanding workloads, is available with M5 Max and with the all-new M5 Ultra. Apple said customers can purchase the new desktops at Apple Store locations, through, and in the Apple Store app.
Apple’s release highlights performance claims tied to the new chips. It says the Mac mini with M6 delivers up to 4x faster AI performance, along with up to 1.2x faster graphics and storage performance, and up to 1.4x faster CPU performance, compared with a prior configuration. Apple also says the Mac mini with M5 Pro offers “pro-level performance” for tasks such as video production and game development.
For the Mac Studio, Apple described the new lineup as its most powerful Mac. It says the Mac Studio with M5 Max and up to 128GB of unified memory supports workloads involving real-time 3D, motion graphics and AI workflows, while the Mac Studio with M5 Ultra can support up to 512GB of unified memory and is designed for even heavier workloads such as 8K color grading and large-scale AI runs on the device. Apple also tied the update to faster AI performance, citing up to 4.3x faster AI performance, and improved graphics performance claims for the Mac Studio.
Beyond raw compute, Apple is leaning into “on-device AI.” In the company’s framing, each core in these machines includes neural accelerators, alongside advanced CPUs and Neural Engines. Apple links the experience to macOS 27 and “Apple Intelligence” features, including “Siri AI,” which Apple says can use personal context to help users across messages, emails and photos, and can answer questions and take actions across apps. Apple also says Siri AI is integrated into Spotlight and systemwide context menus, and can respond using visual intelligence from what a user is viewing.
Apple provided specific hardware details aimed at daily usability and connectivity. It says the Mac mini includes Wi‑Fi 7 and Bluetooth 6, plus upgraded 2.5Gb Ethernet with an option for 10Gb. Apple says the Mac mini uses a 12-core CPU and a 12-core GPU with neural accelerators in each core, and an all-new dual 16-core Neural Engine. It also states that the Mac mini starts with 16GB of unified memory and can be configured up to 32GB, with memory bandwidth up to 170GB/s, while the M5 Pro configuration can support up to 64GB of unified memory with 307GB/s bandwidth.
For professionals, Apple says the Mac Studio includes Thunderbolt 5, with transfer speeds claimed up to 120Gb/s, enabling faster external storage workflows and support for expansion options. It also claims that Thunderbolt 5 with Remote Direct Memory Access can enable clustering multiple Mac Studio systems for distributed AI inference, describing a performance comparison to a single system. Apple also said Mac Studio models can drive up to eight displays, or up to four Studio Display XDR units at full 5K resolution and 120Hz.
Apple said the new desktops are priced to span consumer to professional tiers. Mac mini with M6 starts at $899, while Mac mini with M5 Pro starts at $1,699. Mac Studio with M5 Max starts at $2,499, and Mac Studio with M5 Ultra starts at $5,499. Apple also noted year-round education pricing for college students and educators, with the Mac mini with M6 starting at $799 under its education program.
What Apple did not specify in the release is the exact set of benchmarks or the prior-generation configurations used as the baseline for its “up to” performance figures. It also did not disclose availability of specific build-to-order options beyond memory and connectivity configurations, nor did it provide independent validation of the AI performance comparisons. Buyers may need to confirm the real-world differences for their workloads, especially for tasks tied to “agentic” AI workflows and other AI-assisted tools Apple highlighted as running on-device.
Looking ahead, the practical question for the market is how quickly developers and enterprise IT teams adopt the new macOS 27 and Apple Intelligence capabilities on these updated desktops. Apple’s approach suggests it expects customers to view upgrades not just as faster computing, but as a platform shift toward local AI assistance. Investors and analysts will likely watch whether the new lineup influences Mac desktop demand and whether software ecosystems around Siri AI, Visual Intelligence, and on-device inference expand beyond early adopters.
Why It Matters
- Apple is using the desktop refresh to deepen its strategy of running AI features locally on Mac hardware rather than relying only on cloud processing.
- The pricing and product segmentation suggest Apple is trying to pull both mainstream Mac mini buyers and higher-end creative professionals into a unified Apple Intelligence software experience.
- By emphasizing memory capacity, display support, and fast I/O like Thunderbolt 5, Apple is framing the Mac Studio as a workstation substitute for demanding media and AI workloads.
- The release may increase competitive pressure in the desktop PC market as Apple ties performance claims directly to AI capability and new macOS assistant features.
Sources
Key Facts
- Apple said the new Mac mini and Mac Studio models are available starting today at Apple Store locations,, and in the Apple Store app.
- Mac mini options include M6 and M5 Pro; Mac Studio options include M5 Max and M5 Ultra.
- Apple priced Mac mini at $899 for M6 and $1,699 for M5 Pro, while Mac Studio starts at $2,499 for M5 Max and $5,499 for M5 Ultra.
- Apple said it targets “on-device AI” with neural accelerators and Neural Engines in the new chip platforms, tied to macOS 27 and Apple Intelligence features.
- Apple highlighted higher connectivity for Mac mini, including Wi‑Fi 7, Bluetooth 6, and upgraded 2.5Gb Ethernet with a 10Gb option.
- For Mac Studio, Apple emphasized Thunderbolt 5, multi-display support, and a clustering capability using Remote Direct Memory Access for distributed AI inference.
Technology Related
Jensen Huang and other tech CEOs honored with White House National Medals, including Tesla and NVIDIA leaders
The White House named a group of prominent technology executives, spanning chips, cloud software and electric vehicles, for National Medals. NVIDIA CEO Jensen Huang was among those recognized in the announcement.
Adobe investors weigh a key risk: can Adobe Stock keep growing as subscription momentum cools
Adobe’s shares have fallen sharply over the past year, and market commentary is increasingly focused on whether slower subscription growth could pressure valuation even as Adobe continues to scale its creative and content offerings.
NVIDIA shares surge after higher fiscal-third-quarter outlook, but analysts debate whether the rally is “chart-supported”
Since management lifted its sales forecast for fiscal Q3 on Aug. 26, 2026, NVIDIA stock is up 8.3% versus 1.1% for the S&P 500, according to market coverage. The move has reignited questions about how much of the gains reflect fundamentals versus technical momentum.
Salesforce ties “personal AI agents” to customer service readiness
In a new News feature, Salesforce argues that the rise of AI agents will force businesses to decide how to handle automated, customer-facing conversations at the point of first contact.
Yahoo Finance: A $10,000 Bet on Alphabet Could Still Hit “Millionaire” Math, but the path depends on future stock performance
A new market column framed Alphabet’s long-run gains as a thought experiment, highlighting how much the outcome hinges on share-price returns after today rather than on any single catalyst.
Google Backs a 20-Year Nuclear Power Expansion Plan, Lifting Constellation Energy Shares
A long-term clean energy collaboration aims to add 890 megawatts of new nuclear capacity into PJM, a U.S. power market, under a 20-year power purchase agreement.
Super Micro Computer names 35-year Intel veteran Shesha Krishnapura to its board
The server and storage provider said it appointed an independent director with a long background in Intel’s data center and high-performance computing ecosystem.
Forget the Selloff: NVIDIA Traders Are Focused on a Single “$2 Trillion” AI Spending Benchmark
Even as chip stocks slide after Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing’s strong sales update, market participants are zeroing in on what they believe is the practical cap for debt-fueled artificial intelligence buildouts.
Netflix reportedly weighing layoffs of about 5% of workforce as growth cools
The streaming giant is said to be preparing a workforce reduction amid decelerating revenue growth, subscriber engagement headwinds, and fallout from an unsuccessful deal attempt.
Apple shares slide after report says iPhone 18 Pro orders were cut
A report cited by Yahoo Finance says Apple scaled back component orders for the iPhone 18 Pro and Pro Max, pressuring investor sentiment as the market heads into the new iPhone release cycle.